Wisdom of the Palm Tree

Blogger Friends, I lay no claim to being a poet. These are simply wise words I heard the palms whisper to me. —Lake Worth, FL – 2.15.15

Wisdom of the Palm Tree

Graceful palms, you speak to me today
Beneath warm sunshine
And a gentle breeze that
Causes you to gently sway.

You willingly bend wherever
The breeze takes you and
With whatever comes your way
Just like a willow.

When hurricanes come, I watch
You bow beneath the whipping winds that
Nearly break you at times, yet you remain
Always graceful despite the frantically snapping air.

You have no inner voice that rants,
“Why me? This is not fair!”
You bow and bend with whatever life brings,
Freely sharing your wisdom: what is, is.

About Mary Jo Doig

At the turn of the millennium, I arrived at a cross-road that brought me a splendid, if unforeseen place, almost as if I were a traveler on Robert Frost's The Road Less Traveled. I was single again, my three children were grown and building their lives, I'd experienced a health issue and was working on an improved lifestyle. I also ached to do two other things: (1) change my long human services career in upstate New York's Catskill Mountains, where winter seemed to be at least seven months out of every year, and (2) move to a warmer place in the universe. My decision: did I want to continue on the path I'd been following pretty much all my life, or could I gather my then-fragile courage and start life brand new somewhere else? These were scary thoughts for a single woman in her late 50s. Five hundred miles away, though, I fell in love with a new mountain range, Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains, where I knew not a soul except my daughter who was attending college in the Shenandoah Valley, and I moved. I rented a tiny cabin on a mountain in the woods and lived there in solitude for two years, working in a new career by day and, when home, communing with the incredible natural beauty that surrounded me. There I also began to write my life stories, which were aching for release. I joined the Story Circle Network in early 2001, a rich place in cyberspace for women life writers, where I strengthened my written voice and began sharing my stories. I grew there in so many ways and today I'm a long-time editor for the "True Words from Real Women" section of the quarterly Journal, as well as a reader and reviewer of women's memoirs for the SCN Book Review site, another unique place in cyberspace. Then, next year, I’ll again be honored to be program chair for our Stories from the Heart national conference in Austin, TX. I have so many loves: first, my three children: my son, Chip and daughter, Polly, both in Virginia; and my youngest daughter, Susan, in Florida, and also dear family and friends. I must also include my cats Hilary (20) and Button (5). Sometimes I foster cats and kittens for the Humane Society, but Button prefers me not to. My hobbies include reading, writing, editing, cooking, gardening, quilting, knitting, biking, and simply being with the profound beauty of the mountains that embrace my small two acres in the Blue Ridge. The life stories I began writing in 2001 have grown deeper with time, re-writes, and personal growth. Now, all these years later, I believe I've sliced through the layers to reach the heart of my story, and am presently working on the final revision of my memoir, Stitching a Patchwork Life.
This entry was posted in Gifts, Gratitude, Mother Nature, Mystery, Simplicity. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wisdom of the Palm Tree

  1. ABBY NOVEMBER says:

    lovely visual and poignant.

    Like

  2. Sue rosher says:

    Just coming in from shoveling snow and braving the blustery winter winds, (do you remember?). The palm’s wisdom and picture reminded me that it will once again be warm again here but in the meantime I should buy a ticket to a warmer part of the country. Enjoy the sun on your face and in your heart sue

    Like

    • Mary Jo Doig says:

      Sue, Oh, yes, I remember snow and driving over two major s-curved mountains to and from work, until the winter came when I said, “No more!”) But now spring’s here and we are all smiling and our hearts are opening like the crocus and daffodils and…. life is good. Look forward to seeing you this year! Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  3. Elaine Ercolano says:

    Are you in Florida now? If so, enjoy and I wish I were as it is bitter cold here is Center Moriches.
    I will try to remain the “Words of Wisdom of the Palm Tree” as I cope.

    Like

    • Mary Jo Doig says:

      Elaine, I squeaked home a week late(I was there 3 weeks) after finding a brief two day window to drive back to VA. I learned this year that an important way for me to cope with winter is to get away to warmth. It gave me an amazing lift. And now spring’s here…. Hope you and yours are loving it as much as I. Nice to talk again. Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

