Missing, Presumed

Always, it’s wonderful to discover a new author in one’s favorite genre. Mystery has long been my favorite genre until memoir stepped in some years ago and now shares my top spot with mystery.41sp1sXYFrL._AC_US200_

Susie Steiner is a new author for me, although Missing, Presumed is her second novel. I read a review of the book that intrigued me and ordered it from my library. Today I’m nearly done and am enjoying this book so much, I want to share that, if you have enjoyed British mysteries such as the Elizabeth George series with Thomas Lynley and Barbara Havers, I suspect you’ll enjoy Missing, Presumed as much. Her Detective Inspector is Manon Bradshaw and her partner DC Davy Walker.

I point out this book, in particular, because Steiner has crafted an outcome unique to any mystery I ever remember reading.

Steiner has written a previous book, Home Coming, that I will order, set in a rural town, which I particularly favor. As I write, Steiner is crafting the next Bradshaw and Walker mystery which I shall be watching for.

Nearly a hundred reviews appear on Amazon, to learn more.

About Mary Jo Doig

At the turn of the millennium, I arrived at a cross-road that brought me a splendid, if unforeseen place, almost as if I were a traveler on Robert Frost's The Road Less Traveled. I was single again, my three children were grown and building their lives, I'd experienced a health issue and was working on an improved lifestyle. I also ached to do two other things: (1) change my long human services career in upstate New York's Catskill Mountains, where winter seemed to be at least seven months out of every year, and (2) move to a warmer place in the universe. My decision: did I want to continue on the path I'd been following pretty much all my life, or could I gather my then-fragile courage and start life brand new somewhere else? These were scary thoughts for a single woman in her late 50s. Five hundred miles away, though, I fell in love with a new mountain range, Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains, where I knew not a soul except my daughter who was attending college in the Shenandoah Valley, and I moved. I rented a tiny cabin on a mountain in the woods and lived there in solitude for two years, working in a new career by day and, when home, communing with the incredible natural beauty that surrounded me. There I also began to write my life stories, which were aching for release. I joined the Story Circle Network in early 2001, a rich place in cyberspace for women life writers, where I strengthened my written voice and began sharing my stories. I grew there in so many ways and today I'm a long-time editor for the "True Words from Real Women" section of the quarterly Journal, as well as a reader and reviewer of women's memoirs for the SCN Book Review site, another unique place in cyberspace. Then, next year, I’ll again be honored to be program chair for our Stories from the Heart national conference in Austin, TX. I have so many loves: first, my three children: my son, Chip and daughter, Polly, both in Virginia; and my youngest daughter, Susan, in Florida, and also dear family and friends. I must also include my cats Hilary (20) and Button (5). Sometimes I foster cats and kittens for the Humane Society, but Button prefers me not to. My hobbies include reading, writing, editing, cooking, gardening, quilting, knitting, biking, and simply being with the profound beauty of the mountains that embrace my small two acres in the Blue Ridge. The life stories I began writing in 2001 have grown deeper with time, re-writes, and personal growth. Now, all these years later, I believe I've sliced through the layers to reach the heart of my story, and am presently working on the final revision of my memoir, Stitching a Patchwork Life.
This entry was posted in A Wonderful Book, Mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

